Shower Caddy Spice Rack

19 Nov

Editor’s note: In the past, I’ve tried to be sensitive to our non-environmentalist readers. Not everyone wants to reduce, reuse and recycle. Not everyone wants to eat grass-fed chicken or organic apples. Some people are tired of it. We also wanted to appeal to a wide-range of readers.  

But recently, I decided that was silly. These are some things that are important to me and from here on out, I’m going to be proud of my tree-hugger ways and include more earth-friendly things in my posts. I hope you’ll continue reading anyway. – Ariella

When I moved into our apartment, I decided that I wanted something to keep all of my shower things organized.

I bought one of those shower caddies that hangs on the shower head and then registered for a larger one.

I couldn’t understand why someone would pay $150 for one of these things, but now I realize that the $150 one probably doesn’t rust.

I ended up being disappointed in both, not because they didn’t sufficiently hold my bottles of shampoo, but because they rusted.

Now, maybe it was my fault because I bought something that was metal and intended to use it for the shower.

But, if something is meant for the shower, and being sold for use in the shower, you would think that it would be rust proof, right?

Nope. In the age of junk products, you can expect that the cheap things you buy that are suppose to get wet will, in fact, rust.

When we moved, I scrapped the larger shower organizer. Not only was it rusted, but I had broken it when trying to fit it in my bathroom.

I was about to Goodwill the other one because it wasn’t in terrible condition when I got a great idea.

I could repurpose it as a spice rack.

While it isn’t big enough to hold all of our spices, it holds the majority of the spices that I use on a regular basis.

Once I did that, I was able to remove the spinning spice rack I had in my cabinet. This freed up space for other things that I had trouble accessing earlier.

Note: If you’re contemplating your spice storage options, the downside to one of those spinning ones is that you can’t fit all kinda of spice containers in them. Half of our spices were either too big, or the wrong shape. It also takes up a good amount of space in your cabinet since you need to have enough clearance for the thing to spin. 

I had intended on painting it first, but never got around to it. I did wash it down before using it for our food.

Before you toss something, think about how it can be used in other ways. Not only does it keep usable things out of landfills, but it also saves you money. Spice racks are stupidly expensive and this one was free.

 

Leave a comment